Conference Programme Day Two 

Moving Monuments: History, Memory and the Politics of Public Sculpture,

20-21 April 2018

Manchester Metropolitan University

Manchester Centre for Public History and Heritage

Venue: International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Manchester


Saturday 21 April:


9.15 – 9.45am: Welcome, Tea and Coffee

9.45-11.15: Panel 5: Race, Politics and Power: Contesting Memory in the United States

Chair: Marie Molloy (Manchester Met)

‘Monumental Decisions: Community Engagement, Identity and Memory’, Joanna Gilmore (College of Charleston)

‘The Politics of Public Art in Jefferson County’, Laura Macaluso (Salve Regina University)

‘Heritage or Hate?: Interpreting Confederate Monuments and Negotiating a Path Toward a New Commemorative Landscape’, Laura Burnham (Edge Hill University)


11.15-11.30: Break


11.30-1.00: Panel 6: Marginalisation, Reconciliation and Civic Identity

Chair: Ben Edwards (Manchester Met)

‘Decolonizing Canada’s Indian residential Schools National Monument’, Trina Cooper-Bolam (Carleton University)

‘On Archiving Rubble’, Leen Katrib (Princeton University)

‘Manchester Neo-Liberalism’, Eamonn Canniffe (Manchester Met)


1.00-1.45: Lunch


1.45-3.15: Panel 7: War, Destruction and Remembrance
Chair: Graham Cross (Manchester Met)
‘Public Spaces as Monuments’ Desmond Brett (Norwich University of the Arts)

‘Moving Monuments and Shifting Symbols: Dealing with the Past at the Jasenovac Concentration Camp Memorial Site’, Vjeran Pavlakovic (Rijeka University)

‘The US Pacific War Memorial and the Development of World War Two Remembrance in the Philippines’, Kimberley Weir (University of Nottingham)


3.15-3.45: Break


3.45-5.15: Panel 8: Re-interpreting, and Re-contextualising Monuments

Chair: Mercedes Penalba-Sotorrio (Manchester Met)

‘Statues, Sites of Memory and Surrealism’, Peter Catterall (University of Westminster)

‘Occupying an Empty Plinth: the Hall of Honour at Trinity College Dublin’, Tomás Irish (Swansea University)

‘ “We buried her like a Princess”: post-colonial memory and the commemoration of Emily Hobhouse’, Kate Law (University of Chichester), Ross Wilson (University of Nottingham)


5.45pm: Conference Ends